What is County Assistance?

If you are indigent and cannot afford hospital
and medical care, including medications, or basic
necessities such as rent, food, and utilities, then
the county is required by law to assist you in
paying for them. This is a "last resort" program.
This means that the county will pay for these
services or necessities only if you have no other
way of paying for them on a temporary basis. If,
for example, you receive Medical Assistance
through the state, then that program must pay for
your hospital and medical bills.

Who is eligible for County Assistance?

You are eligible for county assistance if you are
unable to provide for basic necessities or you do
not have enough income and resources to pay for
necessary hospital or other medical expenses.
The ability to pay for necessary medical services
over a 5 year period would make one ineligible
for county assistance. Things exempt under the
law such as some personal property, govern-
mental benefits such as Social Security, or the
homestead exemption (which is the first
$50,000.00 of equity in your house), cannot be
counted as resources. For assistance with food,
rent or utilities, or for assistance with medica-
tions for noninstitutionalized persons, you must
also be a resident of the county to which you
apply. For necessary medical services, you should
apply with the last county in which you resided
for six consecutive months or longer in the past
five years. If you have not resided in any county
for at least six months within the past five years,
then you should apply with the county where you
resided for at least 30 days immediately before
you incurred your medical costs. If you have not
resided in any Idaho county for at least 30 days
but have lived in Idaho for at least 30 days, then
you should apply with the county where you last

resided just before you received the medical services
in question. If you are denied assistance for the
reason that you are not a resident, the county's
decision may be wrong and you should consult an
attorney.

How do I apply for County Assistance?

You can apply for county assistance at the county
courthouse or offices, or someone there can tell you
where to go. You will need to bring with you all the
papers proving your living expenses, monthly income,
and the bills for which you are requesting assistance.
Even if you are orally told the county does not or will
not provide assistance for what you are requesting,
always demand a written application and fill it out. If
you are denied an application, consult an attorney.

You should be aware that upon application for
medical assistance, the county will attach an
automatic lien to all of your real and personal
property and on all insurance benefits to which you
may be entitled. You should also be aware that you
and members of your household who are not fully
employed but who are capable of employment can be
required to file an application with the Department of
Labor and to use your/their best efforts to seek
employment. Those who quit their jobs may be denied
assistance. If a person is unable to work for medical
reasons, you may be required to submit a medical
statement verifying your inability to work.

After the county has reviewed all your information,
they will decide whether or not you are eligible for
county assistance. This decision will be based on your
family size, income, monthly expenses, resources,
debts, and other factors. This decision must be in
writing. If you are denied, the written notice must
state the reasons why you were denied. If no reasons
are given for the denial or if you disagree with the
denial for other reasons, you should appeal and seek
the advice of an attorney as soon as possible.

When will 1T find out if I am eligible for
assistance?

In cases where you request help on non-
emergency medical services, the county has 35
days from the day you submit your written
application to decide whether or not to pay hospital
and medical bills for services already received. For
emergency necessary medical services, the county
has 60 days from the date of the application to
issue a decision.

If you are seeking help with your rent, food, or
utilities, the county should make a decision no later
than 15 days after your first interview. However,
the county should make an immediate decision if
there is an emergency circumstance. The clerk has
the authority to approve financial assistance for
immediate necessities in excess of $200. An
emergency circumstance might be a shut-off of
your utilities, or a court-ordered eviction.

When should I apply for county assistance?

Emergency: 1f there is an emergency, such as if
youreceive an eviction notice, apply immediately.
If you have a medical emergency you should apply
no later than 30 days after you were admitted to the
hospital or obtained the medical care.

Non-emergency: 1f you need necessary but non-
emergency hospital or medical care, you must
apply for assistance at least 10 days before
receiving the services. You can apply for basic
necessities at any time you have the need. Follow-
up necessary medical services based on a treatment
plan which has been approved by the Board may be
paid for up to six months from the date of the
original application. Beyond that, requests for
additional treatment related to an original diagnosis
must be filed within ten days before receiving the
services.



What will the county pay?

The county will only pay what Medicaid would
pay for your medical bills, but you do not have to
pay the difference. For rent, utilities, food, and
other non-medical expenses, the county may try
to limit their help to the smallest amount possible.
If the assistance they provide you doesn't meet
your needs, you should appeal and see an
attorney.

Assistance for food, rent, or utilities may be
limited to one month in a 12 month period.

Will I have to pay the county back?

You will likely be asked to pay back all or a
portion of the assistance you received. What you
pay back must be a "reasonable" amount based
upon actual income and resources available to
you and must be for a "reasonable" period of time
such as three years of small monthly payments.
You should insist on paying an amount you can
afford. The county may also provide for work
reimbursement.

You should not sign a lien on your property or
apromissory note for reimbursement without first
consulting an attorney. If you are denied
assistance because the county will not agree on a
reasonable reimbursement agreement, you should
appeal the decision and consult an attorney.

What can I do if I am denied assistance?

If you are denied assistance on a claim for
medical bills, you can appeal by requesting a
hearing before the county commissioners within
28 days from the date of the denial. You have
the right to have a lawyer or other person
represent you at the hearing. You also have a
right to present evidence and question witnesses.

If the commissioners rule against you, you may
appeal in District Court within 28 days of the
county’s final decision. A decision from the

District Court may be appealed to the Idaho Supreme
Court.

If you are denied assistance for non-medical bills,
such as rent and utilities, you can file a written appeal
to the Board within 30 days of the Board's denial. If
the Board denies the appeal, you have 30 days to file
an appeal to the District Court.

The advice in this pamphlet is very general. There
might be special factors which affect your case, or
you might have questions after reading this pamphlet.
We urge you to consult an attorney about county
assistance problems. If you cannot afford an
attorney, contact the Idaho Legal Aid Services office
nearest you.

IDAHO LEGAL AID AREA OFFICES

310 N. 5th St. Boise, ID 83702 345-0106
1104 Blaine, Caldwell, ID 83605 454-2591
410 Sherman Ave., Suite 303

Coeur d'Alene ID 83814 667-9559
482 Constitution Way, Suite 101

Idaho Falls, ID 83402 524-3660
633 Main, Lewiston, ID 83501 743-1556
150 S. Arthur, Suite 203

Pocatello, ID 83204 233-0079
475 Polk, Twin Falls, ID 83301 734-7024
Senior Legal Hotline ............... 1-800-345-0106

Senior Legal Hotline (Spanish speakers). .1-866-954-2591
Domestic Violence Legal Advice Line .. 1-877-500-2980
TTY: . o 1-800-245-7573
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