surety bondsman’s fee, set by the insurance company,
may cost about 10% of the total bond plus $25 or $35
dollars. This fee can be different from company to
company and their amounts should be listed with the
Idaho Department of Insurance.

Example: a $5000 bail bond could cost a total of $545
($500 surety bondsman’s fee plus $35 and the $10
Sheriff Fee).

How do I post a surety bond? Call any one of the
bail bondsmen listed in the yellow pages of the phone
book. The defendant and a cosigner will be required to
sign the bond agent's contract.

If I'm a co-signor, what will I have to do? If the
defendant misses a court date, you may be expected to
help the bondsman find the defendant, to pay the
bondsman’s expenses for finding the defendant, and to
pay the full amount of the bond if the defendant cannot
be found.

If I go through a bond agent to post a surety bond,
will I get my money and collateral back? You will
not get the surety bond fee or the Sheriff’s fee back.
Whether you get the rest of your money or your
collateral back depends on what you and your
bondsman agreed to in the contract. Every contract is
different.

BEFORE SIGNING ANY CONTRACTS OR
PROMISSORY NOTES, MAKE SURE YOU READ
THROUGH THEM CAREFULLY. BE SURE YOU
UNDERSTAND THEM. ALWAYS GET COPIES OF
ALL DOCUMENTS YOU SIGN AT THE TIME YOU
SIGN THEM.

PROPERTY BONDS

How do I post a property bond? Because using your
property as bond is complicated, please call your
attorney.

RELEASED O.R.

At the time of the defendant’s arraignment which is
usually the next working day, the judge may consider
releasing the defendant on his or her own recognizance,
meaning he or she is released without having to post
any bond at all. The judge will review the facts and
will base this release on whether or not the defendant
has lived in the community a long time, has family
members in the community or has a job. Some other
facts the judge will look at is whether the defendant is a
student, has never failed to appear in court, or other
information indicating that he or she is not likely to flee
the community.

MORE INFORMATION ...

What if I can't afford to lose the money I used to
bond someone out of jail? Never bond someone out
of jail if you cannot afford to lose that money or if you
can't afford to wait for several months to get it back.
Remember, even if the defendant makes all court
appearances, the Court can use the cash bond to pay
fines and fees. In the world of bonding people out of
jail, there are no guarantees.

Note: The Sheriff's fee can change without notice.

This information is to provide you with basic
information only. Every case is different and some
are very complicated. If you need more information
or legal advice, please contact your attorney.

If you have questions about bail bond agents, you
can contact the Idaho Department of Insurance at
(208) 334-4321.

Other information regarding the posting of bonds

may be directed to your local court personnel,
Sheriff’s personnel or to your local Trial Court
Administrator’s office.

SO YOU WANT
TO BOND
SOMEONE OUT
OF JAIL?

General Bond Information
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What is bail? Bail or bond (in this case, bail and bond
mean the same thing) is an amount of money in cash or
surety bond for the purpose of making sure that a
person attends all required court appearances. Bond
allows an arrested person (defendant) to be released
from jail until his or her case is completed.

Who can post bond? Any person can post his or her
own bond. If the defendant can’t afford to bond
himself or herself out of jail, any other person over the
age of 18 can post the bond.

If I bond someone out of jail, when will I get my
money back? It could take months. If you post a cash
bond, you might get some or all of your cash bond
back, but it won't be until the case is finished and the
necessary paperwork has been processed. The law lets
the Court use the cash bond to pay the fine. If you post
a surety bond, you will not get the surety bondsman’s
fee or the Sheriff’s fee back.

CASH BONDS

What is a cash bond? A cash bond is the full amount
of the bond required, paid in cash, to release a
defendant from jail.

How much does a cash bond cost? A cash bond costs
the full amount of the bond, AND a nonrefundable $10
Sheriff's fee. Example: A $500 cash bond would cost
a total of $510 ($500 plus $10).

How do I post a cash bond? For instructions on how
to post a cash bond, call your local Sheriff’s Office.
Note: You do not need to pay a bail bond agent to post
a cash bond for you because you or another person can

post a cash bond.

Can I change my mind after I post a cash bond for
someone? You may have the defendant turn himself or
herself in to jail any time before the defendant misses a
court date. If the defendant is returned to the jail, you
will need to get the required paperwork from court
personnel at your local courthouse. Fill out the
paperwork and return it to the Court. A deputy clerk

will give it to the judge for approval. It will take about
two weeks for the money to be mailed to you.

If I post a cash bond, will I get my money back?
Maybe. If the defendant attends all court appearances
and either pleads guilty or is found guilty, by Idaho
law, 1.C. 19-2923, a cash bond can be used to pay fines
and costs:

..when the money has been deposited, if it
remains on deposit at the time of the
judgment for the payment of a fine, the clerk
must, under the direction of the court, apply
the money in_satisfaction thereof, and after

satisfying the fine and costs, must refund the
surplus, if any, to the party posting the

deposit.

If you are using your money to post a cash bond for
the defendant, please tell the jail your name and
address. If you are using the defendant’s own
money to post the cash bond, tell the jailer that the
bond money should be receipted in the defendant’s
name. The bond receipt should be made for the
person whose money is being used for the cash
bond. If there is any money left, it will be returned
to the person whose name is on the bond receipt. If
the defendant attends all court appearances and the
charges are dismissed or dropped, the person whose
name is on the cash bond receipt will receive the
refund of the cash bond. It takes about two weeks
for the refund to be mailed to the person who
posted the cash bond.

What happens if the defendant misses court?

The judge will issue warrant for the defendant’s arrest,
and the bond will be forfeited (defaulted).). If you post
a cash bond for the defendant, there are only two ways
you can get your money back: 1) You must find the
defendant and turn him or her back to the jail within 90
days of the bench warrant; 2) If the defendant is
arrested and put back in jail within 90 days of the
warrant, you can request your cash bond back.

If either of these happen, you go to the courthouse and

ask for the “Request for Exoneration and Return of
Cash Bail, Certificate of Surrender, and Order for
Exoneration and Return of Cash Bail”. Fill out the
paperwork and give it to the Court. The judge will
review it and if approved, the cash bond will be mailed
back to you. If the defendant isn’t found or arrested
within 90 days, the Court will keep all of your cash
bond.

SURETY BONDS

What is a bail bondsman? Bondsman, bondsperson,
bail agent, and bond agent are all names used for a
person who is licensed by the State Department of
Insurance to sell surety bonds and is authorized to
conduct business in the State of Idaho. He or she is an
agent for an insurance company that sells surety bonds.

What is a surety bond? A surety bond is an
agreement made between a person and a bondsman.
The bondsman agrees to post the necessary bond so the
defendant can be released from jail. This agreement is
backed by an insurance company contract signed by the
person and the bondsman on behalf of the insurance
company. There has to be enough cash or collateral to
cover the full amount of the bond in case the defendant
misses his or her court date. Only a person who has
been licensed by the State Department of Insurance
may post a surety bond.

Why would I hire a bondsman? If you don't have the
cash to cover the full bond amount and the Sheriff's
fee, you may wish to hire a bondsman to bond yourself
or someone else out of jail. Also, as mentioned above,
sometimes the Court keeps a cash bond. If you are
bonding someone out of jail and you don't want to take
the chance that all or part of your cash will be used to
pay the defendant's court fines, fees and restitution, you
might want to hire a bail bondsman.

How much does a surety bond cost? A surety bond
will cost you a surety bond fee, AND a Sheriff's fee of
$10. You will not get any of the surety bondsman’s fee
or the $10 back because it is nonrefundable. The



