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Don’t be a victim
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STATE OF IDAHO



STATE OF IDAHO BOARD OF CONTRACTORS

The Idaho Bureau of Occupational
Licenses aids the Idaho Board of Con-
tractors in fulfilling their mandate of
"providing for the protection of the
health, safety, and welfare of Idaho’s
general public."

YOU CAN CHECK TO SEE IF A
CONTRACTOR IS REGISTERED WITH THE
STATE OF IDAHO AND HAS HAD ANY
DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY THE STATE
BOARD OF CONTRACTORS!

GET THE CONTRACTOR’S REGISTRY
NUMBER AND CHECK THE NUMBER
ALONG WITH ANY DISCIPLINARY
ACTION ON THE IBOL WEBSITE AT
www.ibol.idaho.gov OR CALL

(208) 334-3233.

\The Idaho Bureau of Occupational Li-!
Icenses or “IBOL”, provides administra-i
:tive, investigative, legal & fiscal services :
lto many of Idaho’s regulatory Boards &1
,Commlssmns. All complaints agalnst'
'contractors are processed throughl
IIBOL’s investigative unit. IBOL recelves
'and investigates complaints, prov1desn
,for legal and professional reviews,:
:makes recommendations to the boards!
1 for complaint disposition, and providesI
:for the prosecution of regulatory lawl
 violations. |

CONSUMERS SHOULD
KNOW THAT HIRING UN-
REGISTERED CONTRACTORS
MAY EXPOSE YOU TO
ADDITIONAL RISK!

BEFORE YOU HIRE A CONTRACTOR

¢ Take your time before you make any decisions
about hiring a contractor.

¢ Always check references.
¢ Hire only registered contractors. Anyone
performing home improvements in excess of

$2000 must be Registered with the Idaho State
Board of Contractors.

KNOwW ABOUT

CONTRACTS

. Get the contract in writing, do not sign
anything until you have read and under-
stand the terms. Stay away from verbal
agreements.

e Be specific in the contract. Describe the
work to be done, the materials to be used,
the total costs, and the start and comple-
tion dates.

e Negotiate the payment schedule in the
contract—and follow it. Do not pay cash.
Pay by check and get itemized receipts.

e If you have questions regarding the con-
tract, seek the advice of an attorney.

Contractors Must Provide Disclosures
|daho law requires general contractors to provide certain disclosures
to property owners and customers.

Initial Disclosure
General contractors must provide a disclosure statement, prior to
entering into a contract in excess of $2,000 to construct, alter or
repair residential real property, or for the purchase and sale of newly
constructed property. The contractor must also provide an acknowl-
edgment of receipt to be executed by homeowner or purchaser,
retain proof of receipt and provide a copy to the homeowner or pur-
chaser. The statement must include the following disclosures:

|. The customer has the right, at their reasonable expense, to
require the general contractor to obtain lien waivers from any sub-
contractors providing services or materials.

2. The customer has the right to receive proof that the general
contractor has general liability insurance, including completed opera-
tions and workers' compensation insurance for employees.

3. The customer must be informed of the opportunity to purchase
lﬂn extended palicy of title insurance covering unfilled or unrecorded
iens.

4. The customer has the right to require, at their expense, a
surety bond in an amount up to the value of the construction project.

Disclosure Upon Completion
A general contractor must provide an additional disclosure state-
ment, within a reasonable time either: before receipt of final pay-
ment from the customer for construction, alteration, or repair of
any property, or before closing on a purchase and sales agree-
menlt with a prospective purchaser. The following requirements
apply:

|. The general contractor must sign the disclosure statement.

2. The disclosure statement must list the business names,
addresses and telephone numbers of all subcontractors. material-
men and rental equipment providers who have a direct contrac-
tual relationship with the general contractor and who supplied
materials or performed work on the residential property of a
value in excess of $500.

3. Subcontractors, materialmen and rental equipment provid-
ers listed in the disclosure statement are authorized to disclose
balances owed to the homeowner or purchaser and their agents.

4 The general contractor is not liable for any error, inaccu-
racy or omission of any information delivered pursuant to Idaho
Code & 45-3724(3) if the error, inaccuracy or omission was not
within the general contractor's personal knowledge.

Pursuant to |daha Law, failure to pravide the required disclosures
constitutes an unlawful and deceptive act or practice in trade or
commerce under the Idaho Consumer Protection Act. The Con-
tractors Board may discipline a registered contractor for a viola-
tion of the |daho Consumer Protection Act.

Please consult your personal attorney with any questions about the
required disclosures.




