
FINALIZING DIVORCE BY DEFAULT  PAGE 1 
CAO D INSTRUCTION 7-1   7/01/2016 

CAO D INSTRUCTION 7-1  FINALIZING DIVORCE BY DEFAULT 
 

Talk to an attorney, if possible.   
WARNING: These instructions are not a substitute for legal advice.  The laws and court 
rules are complex and following these instructions will not guarantee you a favorable result.  
We always recommend you talk to a lawyer about your problem before filing your 
paperwork.  If you cannot afford to hire an attorney to represent you, you may be able to pay 
a lawyer to give you advice and review your paperwork for a lesser cost.  Contact the Idaho 
State Bar Lawyer Referral Service (208-334-4500) for the name of an attorney in your area 
who will provide an initial half-hour consultation for $35.  Contact the Court Assistance 
Office for information about resources for low-income people, or visit the Idaho Supreme 
Court’s Self-Help Center at http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/.  
 

Summary of Steps 
Step 1: Obtain and Complete the Required Forms  
Step 2: Make Copies, File With the Clerk and Obtain a Court Date to Finalize Your Divorce 
Step 3: Finalize Your Divorce 
 
Step 1:  Obtain and Complete the Required Forms. 
If you have not already done so, you should return the Original Summons and file your  
proof of service of the Summons and Petition on your spouse. (See CAO D Instruction 1-1.) 
 
A default divorce cannot be entered any earlier than 21 days (including weekends and 
holidays) from the day your spouse was served.  You must wait at least 21 days (including 
weekends and holidays) from the day your spouse was served before you can prepare your 
default documents.  For this purpose, the date your spouse was served was either:   
 1.  The date s/he signed the acknowledgment of service form; or  
 2.  The date the process server delivered the papers to your spouse; or  
 3.  The last date the papers were published in a newspaper.1   
  
You will need to obtain the following forms to have your divorce entered by default: 

• Motion and Affidavit for Entry of Default, CAO FLPi 7-1 
• Default, CAOFLPi 7-4  
• Certificate of Divorce or Annulment, HWH-611, available from Court Clerk or at the 

Court Assistance Office, not available on-line 
• Decree of Divorce: CAO D 8-1 (with children); or Decree of Divorce CAO D 8-3 

(without children) 
If you have minor children of this marriage you will also need: 

• A copy of the Parenting Plan, CAO FL 3 you filed with your Petition and  
• Child Support Transmittal form, CSS 809.  

If your spouse filed a Notice of Appearance, CAO Cv 3-1, but did not file any other response 
to the Petition, you will first need to complete, serve and file a Notice of Intent to Take 
Default, CAO FLPi 7-5.  If at the end of 6 days from service of the notice your spouse has 

                                                           
1 Idaho has a statute (I.C.§32-716) that allows either party in a divorce case to apply for reconciliation 
proceedings within 20 days after service on the Respondent.  Thus, the twenty day waiting period is 
required in a default case.  Some judges will allow both parties to swear that they will not apply for 
reconciliation proceedings in order to move the date of the divorce forward and have a decree entered 
by stipulation, other judges will not.  Please check with your local Court Assistance Officer to find out 
the local practice and obtain the forms you’ll need if you feel you need your divorce entered in fewer 
than 20 days after service.  (Ideally, you should check this out before you file your Petition.) 
 

http://www.courtselfhelp.idaho.gov/
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not filed a Response (or a Response and Counterclaim), you can have your divorce entered 
by default.    
 
If your spouse filed a Response or a Response and Counterclaim, you cannot take 
default.  Contact your local Court Assistance Officer for the procedures available to finalize 
your Divorce. 
 
Complete the forms you need by typing or neatly printing in black ink.   
 
At the top left-hand corner of  page 1 of each form fill in your name, address, telephone 
number, and email address (if you have one).   
 
Fill in the county and judicial district in capital letters in the heading just as it was on the 
Petition you filed (for example, “IN THE DISTRICT COURT OF THE FOURTH JUDICIAL 
DISTRICT IN AND FOR THE COUNTY OF ADA”).   
 
Fill in your names in the caption (“John Doe, petitioner v. Mary Doe, respondent”) just as 
they appear in the Petition.   
 
Fill out the remainder of each individual form, providing the information requested. Some of 
the forms require your signature certifying that the information is true and accurate, subject 
to the penalty of perjury if it is not.    
 
Step 2:  Make Copies, File with the Clerk and Obtain a Court Date to Finalize Your 
Divorce. 
Make one copy of each of the completed forms for your records.  Make a second copy of 
the Decree and all attachments (the second copy is for your spouse after the hearing). If you 
and your spouse have minor children, make a third copy of the Decree and the attachments 
(this third copy is for Child Support Receipting).   Place your copies under the originals of 
each document.  
 
Go to the window in the Clerk's Office.   Give the Clerk the completed originals and copies 
of the following forms: 
 

-  Motion and Affidavit for Default 
- Default  
- Certificate of Divorce 
- Divorce Decree (with the attachments) 
- Child Support Transmittal Form (if applicable) 

 
If your spouse will not be attending the default hearing, give the Court Clerk a stamped 
envelope with your spouse’s name and address on it.   
 
The Clerk will file the Notice and Motion and Affidavit, and will put the Default aside for the 
judge’s signature.  The Clerk will “conform” your copies of the filed documents by stamping 
and dating them.  This will save you paying $1.00 per page for copies of these documents 
from the court file later on, and will provide proof of the filing of the documents in case they 
become misplaced from the court file.  The Clerk will place the original Decree (with 
attachments) in the court file so it will be available for the judge to review during your court 
hearing.  The Clerk will hold all of the copies of the Decree, the Vital Statistics Certificate of 
Divorce and the Child Support Transmittal form, plus any envelopes, for use after your 
divorce is final.  
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Obtain a court date from the clerk to finalize your divorce Petition, you must allow three days 
after service of the Notice of Intent to Take Default (plus three additional days for mailing 
unless the Notice was served in person).  If you have minor children, you will need to attend 
the court’s Parenting Workshop (called “Divorce Orientation” or “Mediation Orientation” in 
some districts) before the hearing date.  The parenting workshop attendance is required 
even if you and your spouse agree on all the issues in your divorce.   
 
Optional Step:  If you have not already seen it, you may wish to contact the Court 
Assistance Office to schedule watching the 12:45 minute video called “The Idaho State 
Court System: Family Law” and learn more about what to expect at Court.  This video is also 
available at your public library.   
 
Step 3: Finalize Your Divorce. 
You are the only person who needs to come to court to finalize your divorce.   You can use 
the appropriate Hearing Narrative script, CAO D  Instruction 8-5 (with children); or Hearing 
Narrative script, CAO D Instruction 8-6 (without children) to give your oral testimony.  We 
recommend that you sit in on several divorce hearings at the courthouse prior to your 
scheduled divorce hearing, so that you can become familiar with the procedure.  The clerk 
will be able to give you the times when default divorce hearings are held.  (Some judges 
allow your testimony to be submitted in writing.  You can ask the Court Assistance Officer or 
Clerk if this is allowed.  The testimony forms are Affidavit in Support of Default Decree of 
Divorce, CAO D 7-6 (without children); or Affidavit in Support of Default Decree of Divorce, 
CAO D 7-7 (with children).     
 
On the day of the hearing, make sure you go to the correct courtroom.  Bring your copy of 
all the documents you filed with the court.  Dress neatly and address the judge as “Your 
Honor.”  The judge will call the name and the number of your case.  Go to the clerk’s table 
by the judge’s bench.  Then the clerk will swear you in and you will take a seat at the 
witness stand and give your testimony of the things you stated in the Petition.  If what you 
are asking the judge to give you is in any way different from what you’ve asked for in your 
Petition, then you must have a signed agreement with your spouse (called a Sworn 
Stipulation for Entry of Decree of Divorce, CAO D 6-8).  The judge may ask you questions.  
If the judge has no questions, you are finished.  The judge will tell you if the divorce is 
granted.   
 
At the Clerk’s office after your hearing, the Clerk will “conform” the extra copies you 
provided.   The judge will not sign these copies, but the Clerk will stamp the judge’s name 
on them.  One of the conformed copies is for you.  The other is for your spouse.  If your 
spouse is not present, you will need to supply a stamped, addressed envelope for the clerk 
to mail a conformed copy to your spouse.  The third copy is for Child Support Receipting 
and is necessary if you have minor children even if the guidelines child support amount is 
$0.  The Court Clerk will send the third copy to Child Support Receipting.  In all cases the 
Court Clerk will send the Divorce Certificate to Vital Statistics. 
 
If you need additional copies, you can purchase regular or certified copies of your final 
documents any time after your final hearing from the Clerk's Office.  However, there is a 
charge of $1.00 per page for such additional copies.  That is why it is important for you to 
supply at least two copies to be conformed by the clerk after the hearing.  To have a copy 
certified you will be charged $.50 per page plus $1.00 for the seal if you provide the copy, 
otherwise the Clerk will have to charge $1.00 per page, plus $1.00 for the seal.   
  
If for some reason you cannot make your court date or if you will be late, call the court clerk 
to ask for an extension of time and a new court date. 


	Talk to an attorney, if possible.

